Farm City Breakfast/Century Farm of the Year

The annual Farm City Breakfast Friday honored the Maury County Agriculture Community at the Ridley 4-H camp.
The highlight was the naming of the Century Farm of the Year.
The Cothran Farm received honor. John Boyd Cothran accepted the Century Farm honor. “This year we choice to recognize the Cothran farm,” said Richard Gross. “There are not a lot of them left.”
State Representative Sheila Butt had a resolution passed in the state legislature honoring the Cothran farm. “The John Boyd Cothran Farm was honored. We passed a house resolution passed commending them,”said Representative Butt.
“I’ve worked on the farm since I was 5 years old when my grandfather gave me my first cow,” said Cothran. “I’ve grown from there to today and I’m 65 years old. I still love the farm,” said Cothran.
“I raise beef cattle, corn, soybean and hay for our cattle,” he said.
Agriculture Commissioner Julius Johnson was the keynote speaker.

This entry was posted in Local News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

